The World of Books
(Last Updated On: October 4, 2016)


Navratri is not only a nine day festival of worship, worship and worship. It is also nine days of fun and entertainment. It is also the festival of nine colours. There is a popular custom in many parts of India to wear a specific colour clothes, on each day of the festival to pay homage to the nine avtaars of devi durga.

The nine colours that are associated with Navratri are:
Royal Blue/Navy Blue
Peacock Green

Though a colour is associated with every avataar but the colours change every navratri depending on the day of Ghatasthapna. And then they follow a specific order. For example in 2016, the first colour is Grey, then Orange and the order continues till Purple.

Navratri is a festival to celebrate the Victory of Goddess Durga over the Demom Mahishasur. It is not just any ordinary festival. It is a festival celebrating a goddess in this patriachal society. So, is it is also a festival celebrating feminism, the power of a woman.

So let us make these nine colours, the representors of women’s issues, progress and life. Let us convey strong messages favouring women this Navratri and in all those to come. Let us remind others of the value of women.

Red– Let us make it the colour supporting the birth of female child. A colour against female feticide.

Royal Blue– Let it denote the education of a girl child. Let blue be the colour supporting and encouraging her education. Let this be the colour of women empowerment.

Yellow– Let yellow be the colour of strength and bravery of women.

Green– Let us portray the fertility of a women with green. She is the one who is endowed with the precious and noble task of bringing a new life in this world and nurturing it.

Peacock Green – Let it denote the caring , kind and forgiving heart of a women.

Purple– Let it denote the anger, rage and pain she feels when she is hurt, disrespected and her dignity is at stake. Let purple be the colour against Rape.

Grey – Let Grey denote the fighter in her who is always fighting to protect and uphold her dignity in this world .

Orange – Let orange be the indication of her dedication to succeed against all odds.

White– Let white be a colour of equality between men and women. Let white be the colour of her freedom and upliftment.

0 thoughts on “Navratri Chronicles#4- The nine colours of Navratri in today's Context”

parijat shukla · October 3, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Good one.

Cattie's World · October 3, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Thanks for explaining the significance of each color. So this is a Festival dedicated to the Power of Women.

    Prajakta · October 4, 2016 at 10:15 pm

    This is a festival celebrating victory of an Indian goddess over a demon . I have just used the concept of the different colours of the festival in favour of women ☺

Wendell A. Brown · October 3, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Love it!

boundlessblessingsblog · October 3, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Thanks Prajakta so much informative post.

    Prajakta · October 4, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Thank you for reading the post ☺

Sudhir Chauhan · October 4, 2016 at 12:09 pm

wow….. nice info….. wasnt aware of……

    Prajakta · October 4, 2016 at 10:12 pm

    Thank you. Yes the concept of nine colours is popular in a few states only especially in maharashtra

Doctor Jonathan · October 4, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Really enjoyed the explanation. Adds to the meaning of different cultures. Thank you for sharing.

    Prajakta · October 4, 2016 at 10:10 pm

    Thank you for reading the post and giving feedback. I am glad you liked it ☺

    Prajakta · October 4, 2016 at 10:11 pm

    Thank you ☺

Leave a Reply

Related Posts


5 Negative effects of Body Shaming and How to Deal with Them

(Last Updated On: November 23, 2017) Image Source Body shaming is basically criticizing or humiliating someone for their weight, size or appearance. Most people think that body shaming happens only to fat people but that Read more…


11 Reasons Why Cooking at Home is Cool

(Last Updated On: November 3, 2017)One always faces a dilemma – eating out or a home-cooked meal.  Some people think that cooking at home is a waste of time as all you need to is order Read more…


8 Types of Carry on Luggage for Frequent Travelers

(Last Updated On: October 31, 2017)For frequent travelers, traveling is not only about seeing places. Nowadays a Travel is a social statement and we need to be on top of our fashion game.  Airports nowadays Read more…

%d bloggers like this: